

Appeals Panel (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS PANEL (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 18 JANUARY 2023 AT CHARLTON ROOM - COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE.

Present:

Cllr George Jeans, Cllr Graham Wright, and Cllr Tamara Reay

1 <u>Election of Chairman</u>

Cllr Graham Wright was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

Cllr Graham Wright in the Chair.

2 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

3 Minutes

The minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 12 September 2022 were presented for consideration and it was;

Resolved:

To approve the minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 12 September 2022.

4 <u>Meeting procedure</u>

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

5 **Exclusion of the press and public**

The panel considered whether or not to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved:

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 6 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

6 **School transport appeal**

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved. Upon consideration of this information:

The Panel decided to refuse the appeal on the basis that the Transport Policy had been correctly followed, and that Lavington School was not the closest school to the Appellant's home. It was recommended that the Appellant liaise with the Transport Officer for an alternative solution.

(Duration of meeting: 10.00 - 10.50 am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Ben Fielding - Senior Democratic Services Officer of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718656, e-mail Benjamin.Fielding@wiltshire.gov.uk
Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk